At Burnside Primary School we plan, assess and report using the Australian Curriculum. The curriculum areas are as follows:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science (Specialist subject area taught by Mrs Abby MacPherson and Mrs Jane Glasson)
  • Health and Physical Education ( P.E is a specialist area taught by Mr Derek Ince and Mrs Jaime Will)
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • The Arts (Music taught by Mr Mark Ashby and Ms Tanya Henry
  • Technologies
  • Languages (French is Specialist area taught by Madame Marianne Aardenburg  and Madame Lydia Herman

General capabilities within the Australian Curriculum are a set of knowledge, skills, behaviours and dispositions that can be developed through all the learning areas.

The seven general capabilities in the Australian Curriculum are:

• Literacy

• Numeracy

• Information and communication technology competence

• Critical and creative thinking

• Personal and social competence

• Ethical behaviour

• Intercultural understanding.

The cross‐curriculum priorities in the Australian Curriculum provide students with tools to better understand their world. The priorities are fitted with content to simultaneously develop knowledge, understanding and skills relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Histories and Cultures, Asia and Australia’s Engagement with Asia, and Sustainability.

For further information about each curriculum area please click on the links below:

Health and Physical Education
Humanities and Social Sciences
The Arts
Work Studies

Want to know more about the Australian Curriculum?

Students with disability
Students for whom English is an additional language or dialect
Student – gifted and talented
General capabilities
Cross curriculum priorities


You are here: Home Curric